Buhari declared winner of the 2019 presidential election by INEC
Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari has been declared the winner of the 2019 presidential election. The announcement was made by Mahmood Yakubu,  the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The president polled 15,191,847 votes from the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and the 36 states in the country to defeat his main Challenger Atiku Abubakar who got 11,262,978 votes.

“That Muhammadu Buhari of the APC having satisfied and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared winner and return elected,” Yakubu said.

While the announcement of results was still in progress, the opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party, called for a halt and rejected results earlier declared. However, their call was not heeded by the electoral body.

READ ALSO  BBNAIJA 2019 Audition dates and venues announced
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in:

This post was written by kins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *